Return to News

Lamont Jefferson serves as Chair-Elect of the Valero Alamo Bowl
Monday, January 4, 2016

Lamont Jefferson currently serves as Chair-Elect of the Valero Alamo Bowl and is scheduled to begin his term as Chair in March 2016. The Valero Alamo Bowl has been an exciting addition to college football since the first game was played in 1993. Taking place in San Antonio, Texas, the Valero Alamo Bowl showcases two of the premier conferences in the country, featuring the #1 Pac-12 team against the #1 Big 12 team after the College Football Playoff selections. The Valero Alamo Bowl has hosted 23 bowl games and 9 neutral site games at the Alamodome. These 32 games have attracted over 2.35 million spectators (over 50% are out-of-town visitors), generated a direct impact in excess of $560 million and contributed over $98 million to higher education through team payouts and local scholarships. Over 7.4 million viewers watched the 2016 game between #11 TCU and #15 Oregon. For only the third time in Valero Alamo Bowl history, 60 minutes were not enough to declare a winner as TCU and Oregon went into overtime. The Horned Frogs secured the victory with four touchdowns from quarterback Bram Kohlhausen and stellar second half performance by the TCU defense.